Topic

12 sided die, useful in any other way?

Okay, so I've searched the forums and seen other posts about the 12 sided die but nothing I find says whether or not the other sides besides the "rook" side do anything. Is this the case? 

Posted 14 months ago by Magill Subscriber! | Permalink

Replies

  • I've rolled rook twice in about 4 rolls once, but never except those occasions. Both times it gave a -50 mood penalty for 'attracting the rook' but nothing else happens whatsoever as far as i see.
    Posted 14 months ago by Hobo Subscriber! | Permalink
  • Like the regular dice, it does nothing.

    Except for what YOU make it do for you.

    Like maybe using it for a public drawing of "numbers" for a lottery. (shameless plug)
    Posted 14 months ago by Lord Bacon-o Subscriber! | Permalink
  • Assign numbers 1-11 to the giants.
    Roll the die.
    Choose your next skill, or make your next donation accordingly.

    If you roll a rook, do something nice for another player.
    Posted 14 months ago by TK-855 Subscriber! | Permalink
  • @Hobo: Occasionally the rook will attack the street you are on when you roll it. When this happens the ani mals on the street will be knocked unconscious and need to be revived by players. It happened to me last night.
    Posted 14 months ago by BarryW Subscriber! | Permalink
  • TK-855 the giants are already assigned to the numbers.  When you roll a 12-sided die in this game, it comes up "Rook" or "Tii" or "Grendaline", etc.
    Posted 14 months ago by WindBorn Subscriber! | Permalink
  • I've seen some people running a game with this die. They take bets on the outcome, and pay 10x to the winner.
    Posted 14 months ago by Widdershins Subscriber! | Permalink
  • @WindBorn: Didn't know that, as I haven't bought one or seen one being used. (Besides, as a gamer, I've got more than enough 12-siders IRL.) :D
    Posted 14 months ago by TK-855 Subscriber! | Permalink
  • @widdershins you mean the sensation known as Giant Chances that swept Ajaya Bliss last week??  Well I heard its against the rules, but I've set up a group nonetheless, just for, yknow, nostalgia... please join!  www.glitch.com/groups/RIFT2...
    Posted 14 months ago by Friend Subscriber! | Permalink
  • It's against the rules to gamble with currants? Why would that be? There's no way for currants to turn into RL money or vice versa, so it wouldn't be illegal. Is it against the terms of service here?
    Posted 14 months ago by Meridian Subscriber! | Permalink
  • Whoops double post
    Posted 14 months ago by Meridian Subscriber! | Permalink
  • Meridian, it's not against the TOS. One of the toys you can buy is a pair of 6 sided dice.  There's no reason to believe that any kind of in-game gambling would be against the rules.
    Posted 14 months ago by WindBorn Subscriber! | Permalink
  • You could use the d12 and the 2d6 to run a role-playing game-within-a-game.  It's the only kind of "violence" in this game that I wouldn't mind, because it's ... doubly? triply? ... imaginary.
    Not that anyone would do that sort of thing, but the recursiveness of the idea pleases me.
    Posted 14 months ago by Scarlett Bearsdale Subscriber! | Permalink
  • @Scarlett +1. maybe we need to make a group...
    Posted 14 months ago by Lara Subscriber! | Permalink
  • I'd love it if whichever Giant came up we'd get some favor at that shrine. And to discourage overuse, if we roll the Rook we lose favor. 
    Posted 14 months ago by PittyPat is sad Subscriber! | Permalink